Nineteen States Okays FG Suspension of School Resumption

The Commissioners for Education in the nineteen Northern States have thrown their weight behind the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, over the suspension of school reopening amid the Corona virus pandemic.

The Commissioners made their position known in a communique issued in Kaduna State, North-West Nigeria after a virtual meeting to consider school reopening and other issues to strengthen the education sector.

Chairman of the Northern States School Exchange Programme and Commissioner for Education in Kaduna State, Shehu Makarfi, signed the communique.

The meeting was attended by Education Commissioners of 13 out of the 19 Northern States namely; Kaduna, Bauchi, Gombe, Niger, Nasarawa and Adamawa. Others are Taraba, Kogi, Kwara, Katsina, Kano, Borno and Jigawa States.

The Commissioners hailed the Minister of Education for ensuring the safety of school children, by taking a decisive stand against school reopening and pledged their full support in keeping schools closed considering the spike in Covid-19 cases across the country.

Share with friends:
Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button